Going Vegan(ishy)

VegWeek 2013

Wow!  It’s been a year since I ate my last meat!  OK, truth is when we were in China I had a few bites of meat at cooking school, in a few super local dishes and such, but that’s why this blog title ends in ‘ishy’.  I give myself permission to be a little flexible when I need to without feeling like I’ve failed.

I started my meat free existence during VegWeek 2012 and by the end of the 7 days I realized it was the second best diet decision I’ve made (going dairy free ~15 years ago was first).  Since forgoing meat, I feel lighter, more focused, and so much more energized.  That lingering always tired and slightly sickish heavy feeling evaporated and no food is worth feeling that way again.  For me, it was easy to just keep going.

Meat consumption and production comes with many health and environmental issues and every day more people are reducing their intake.  Some simply do Meatless Mondays, and some go 100% vegan.  I encourage everyone to give it a try at whatever level you are comfortable.

VegWeek is a great place to start – take the 7-day Veg Pledge and experience a meat free existence for just one week.  It’s easier than you think and you just might discover some new vegan recipes to add to your regular mix – more veggies are never bad!   Don’t know where to start?  Click the image below to take the VegPledge and discover the wonderful world of plant based food!  Drop me a note if you join!

2 thoughts on “VegWeek 2013

Leave a Reply

